Jiyoon Lee is badass, the outfit I wore yesterday, & other news


yesterday was an exciting day for fashion in south bend, indiana. jiyoon lee, ed trefts, and amanda utzman closed out the 2nd-year ND-MFA reading series at quincy’s cafe, and it was totally rad. ed led readers through infinitely many doors with his maybe-bloodstained stand-up wit & amanda’s swan song was, as always, astonishing. utzman wore head-to-toe theatrical-black with an absolutely delightful rhinestone “A”-charm choker while Ed rocked his signature woody allen-inspired style. in the spirit of japan (the best kind of asian, duh) jiyoon & I dressed up in our favorite fluffy lolita frocks. jiyoon’s romantic drama with her “darling spellcheck machine” was especially intense, so here is a video for her many internet admirers

I wore this outfit in honor of mlle. lee’s harajuku-cute aesthetic. you can look at it on lookbook, where my inner poetry whore will now be throwing occasional fashion-fits @ xocherriecher

I’m coming back into the internet. My horoscope says I’m feeling “nest-y” which for me means I want to spend time with my favorite writers and make a lot of art, preferably in my own apartment or one with a cooler aesthetic. It’s fall and I want to be in new york or the world. today I substitute-taught a fiction class and we talked about imaginary cities and locations and locatability. I think new york is an imaginary city because it always exists exactly how I imagine it, because everything one does in new york feels like art, even if it’s just drinking cuban coffee out of a styrofoam cup and riding the F train. in imaginary south bend styrofoam is actually porcelain, and in the insides of trains, it is always snowing. the streetpeople are especially fashionable with their fingerless gloves. it’s lovely.

About this entry